Erie County Historical Society’s Annual Awards

Erie County Historical Society has established several ways in which it recognizes outstanding achievement and dedication to the field of history, on the part of individuals and organizations.  This recognition may be awarded for service over a period of time, or for the quality of a specific project.

All buildings and structures at least 40 years old or of an endangered archetype in Erie County are eligible for Preservation Awards. This includes commercial, residential, industrial, public, religious, or other properties.  They need not qualify for “National Register” listing, but must be of recognized historical or architectural value in terms of format, detail, and/or presence in the community.  Interior and/or exterior work is eligible.  Construction or enhancement projects must have been completed within the past five years.

ECHS is proud to announce the recipients of the 2012 Local History and Historic Preservation awards.

Media Award: Gazette Newspapers, Inc. and Ms. Meg Loncharic
Education Award: Dr. Darren Williams and Mr. Jack McIntire
Local History Award: Edinboro Area Historical Society
Preservation Stewardship Award: Tibbals House
President’s Award: Ms. Marlene Mosco

The Awards Dinner will be held Tuesday, August 14, at 6pm. Tickets can be purchased by calling 814.454.1813. Congratulations to all the winners!

This entry was posted in News and Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 − = two